Making Fresh Pasta

If you are like me, there is a piece of equipment that you have bought five years ago that has never seen the light of day. To me these are my pasta attachments for my Kitchen Aid mixer. My hubby’s passion is pasta, so this is really about him making fresh pasta for the first time. There are tons of pasta recipes, some as simple as flour, egg and salt. But we decided again to go with Patrick O’ Connell and his pasta recipe. So yesterday, with much excitement we brought out our pasta set and attached it to our Kitchen Aid. And a whole new world of possibilities begins.

Pasta1  Pasta2

Pasta3_1

This is my hubby’s pasta testing so I need to interview him for this. In the meantime all I remember going on in the kitchen is passing the pasta through the rollers several times until it is so thin. Then  run it through your pasta slicer and voila … fettuccine from scratch.

NOTE: Patrick O’ Connell is chef/owner of the The Inn at Little Washington. We were fortunate to attend a dinner in his honor and our eyes were opened to a whole new adventure in gastronomy.

update : 9/12/06

Here is the recipe straight from the book "Refined American Cuisine" by Patrick O’ Connell . Makes about 1 pound . Needs a pasta machine.

3 eggs

2 egg yolks

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1. In a small bowl, whisk the eggs, egg yolks, salt , and olive oil together.

2. Place the flour in the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with a dough hook. With the mixer on low speed, slowly add the egg mixture in a steady stream. Mix until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowl and forms a ball. The dough should be  slightly wet and elastic. Dust the ball dough with flour, wrap it in plastic wrap, and refrigerate until ready to use. (The dough can be made in advance and frozen.)

3. Using a pasta machine, roll out the dough and cut it in the desired shape.

* We had some extra rosemary at hand , so Sina chopped it up and tossed it in while the dough was mixing. As I said earlier, the possibilities are endless.

6 thoughts on “Making Fresh Pasta

  1. I love pasta. But I never dared thinking about making it myself. I find it hard to think about getting the flour and oil out and mixing them all together. For guys, it's just easier to open a pack of pre-made pasta and boil it! But I need to say that it was very easy. I just mixed all the ingredients and the machine did all the work. When I got back to the mixer after a few minutes, I already had a perfect ball of pasta dow. It was so much fun feeding it through the roller for flattening it. I went as far as level 3 which yields a very thick pasta and it would take about 20 minutes for water to soak into this pasta if you dry it (as I learned later). Next time, I will flatten my dough up to level 8 and then cut it. I had seen this activity done but had never done it myself. Let me tell you, once you do it, you feel you can make any pasta you want. I am thinking of making sun-dried tomato and tarragon pasta next!!!

  2. I recently took some classes in pasta making which I described in my blog. Everything worked perfectly in class, but I had a few challenges when I tried it at home. My big issue was how long to dry the cut pasta if I wasn't cooking it right away. I looped it the same way you did, but found some of it was sticking together in the pot. Any recommendations on what worked for you during the time between cutting and cooking the pasta?

    http://culinarytypes.blogspot.com

  3. I'm not sure if you are suppose to do this but we did flour the pasta after we cut it so it will not stick together as it dries. To prevent sticking in the pot we added some olive oil to the water while boiling;again I'm not sure if an Italian pasta maker will be horrified at what we have done 🙂 . Anyway, we just left the pasta sitting on the countertop and cooked what we needed as the days passed. We finished what we made in four days.

  4. Hi im chilly.
    having grown up with a name like chilly, you can imagine how much i have been teased about having the same name as a food.
    this has pursuaded me to prove them wrong and go into the food industry.
    i have a way of testing if pasta is done.
    well actually, its my boyfriend franks idea.
    (thats right im homosexual bitch)
    so yes. after 10-20 minutes of cooking the pasta, carefully without burning your hand take one strand out of the pot and throw it at the refrigerator. if it sticks, its done.
    i hope any of this info has been a helful input into every north american home! 🙂

Leave a Reply

