A Book Dilemma

As someone who is trying to find her way in the kitchen, I am faced by a stack of cookbooks that threaten to grow as tall as I am. Right now, I am determined to learn some nifty cooking skills and unlearn some inefficient habits of mine that defy any logical workings in the kitchen (although they make very good stories to tell afterwards).

I have here a list that I am debating on and would love everyone’s input as to which book they think have helped them the most.

            The Cook’s Book

            The Professional Chef

            Jacques Pepin Complete Techniques

            La Varenne Pratique

            

            Feel free to mention other books not on the list. Thanks!

9 thoughts on “A Book Dilemma

  1. We bought The Cook's Book for Xmas, and it's been quite useful so far. Lots of detail and instructions. But then I haven't seen any of the others, so I cannot compare:(

  2. Hi Peabody – I do have culinary artistry…it is a great book. I hear that the pictures and details in La Varenne Pratique are phenomenal
    T.W. – Bourdain recommended Pepin's book in one of his tomes, can't remember which now. That's why I am interested…it's good to hear about the detailed pictures because I am one who need visuals.
    Pille – I'm glad to hear the Cook's book is useful. The reason this made my list is because of several chefs in this book like Ferran Adria and Pierre herme

  3. Pepin is the one I own and would be one of the cookbooks I tell people they will have to rip from my dead, cold, stiff fingers so plan on sticking it in my coffin 🙂

  4. I know how you feel, we've finally reached the point where we're going to have to buy another bookshelf to house all our cookbooks!

    Of the ones you listed I have a copy of "The Cook's Book" on the way. I'll let you know what I think when I get it, plus I'll be writing a review. 🙂

  5. Thanks for the info, breadchick!Put that way, I am all the more curious now with Pepin's book.
    Oh Brandon – you just don't know how much I've come to love Julia after reading the book 'My Life in France'. Such a wonderful and funny woman and her husband is so devoted!
    Ari – he..hee am glad that I'm not the only one with book shelf problems. I always have to warn the hubby before a box from Amazon arrives.

  6. hi there. i am also in a kind of book dilema…. can you help with tellingme which PH book is the best buy? Chocolate Desserts or Desserts by PH? And Paris Sweets by Dorie Greenspan….. vs Baking: from my Home to Yours also by orie Greenspan….. Any chance that PH's macaron recipes pop up in any of these books? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

