Taking a walk on the Wild Side

Wildthings

Brandon over at Brandon Eats tipped off Richmonders about the availability of chanterelles at the local Fresh Market. I was able to go earlier today just in time to see someone stocking the mushrooms up from a new box. I waited patiently for the young man to finish and then swooped in to take my pick of the pricey fungus .

        I am not going to post any recipe here. I just thought it was funny that I was  having wild mushrooms with the rack of wild boar I was planning to make. The wild boar was simply spiced with salt and pepper and roasted in a 400 F oven for 50 minutes. The chanterelles were sautéed in butter and sprinkled with – you guessed it –salt and pepper. I also made some caramel whiskey apples to go with the wild boar. This went particularly well with this meat because it had a very strong taste resemblance to pork.

        And the Chanterelles? They were earthy, tasty and totally worth it!   

10 thoughts on “Taking a walk on the Wild Side

  1. I first had my taste of wild boar at a friends' dinner party. It was good, meaty and tasty! I haven't had any luck in finding them though i haven't really looked far. I ought to try cooking it at home.

    As for wild chanterelles, how lucky can a girl get? 🙂

  2. Chanterelles are always worth it! Lucky you to have them available! 🙂 The whole meal looks so earthy and delicious…

  3. This is the way food is supposed to be! Incredible photo! Soon I must succumb and find me some Chanterelles, it's been so long.

  4. Hi Mae – it is my first time tasting wild boar. A friend of mine was ordering some and convinced me to try it. It is tastier than pork and not gamey at all.
    Thanks T.W. – You are right. Sometimes back to the basics of salt and pepper is simply the best way.
    Hi Joey. It's a stroke of luck with wild mushrooms, you never know when they will be at their prime for picking.
    Thanks MW ! The meal was absolutely heavenly. Especially the mushrooms — get them if you see them.
    Hi Tanna – go find the chanterelles… I say one must splurge on them once or twice a year! 🙂

  5. Wild boar?! Talk about eating something exotic. 🙂 Sounds like a yummy combination of flavours. I like the apples you threw in.

Leave a Reply

