The Macaron Chronicles

Macatray

So far so good! These little buggers have finally shown me their feet! The first one I tried was a straight almond macaron recipe. The ones below are pistachio macarons from Tartelette. They are really yummy! The uneveness of the top is due to my inability to grind the pistachios and almonds to a fine texture. I’m trying chocolate macarons tomorrow. Wish me luck. I will consolidate my findings after a few more experiments. But I was really excited about my results today! I’m off to make the chocolate ganache filling…

Macatraypist

15 thoughts on “The Macaron Chronicles

  1. Yeay! Go Veronica! I'm so impressed that you're having an easy time making them, sometimes mine are fabulous, other times they're an utter disaster, I never know what's going to happen.

  2. Pingback: Ponto de Teste: Macaron au Chocolat β€” Prato Fundo

  3. Thanks for the great tip about aging the egg whites. I have this macaron recipe from Francois Payard (Las V egas) that measures the ingredients in volume, which is great for people without scales. Anyways, I seem to be doing everything correctly in terms of consistency, but but I don’t have any ‘feet’ on my macarons. They taste perfect too, just no feet. Does the sugar composition lend a hand to ‘feet’ production? Maybe my measurements are off? Here’s the recipe:

    1 cup almond flour
    1/2 cup fine granulated sugar
    1 cup confectioners sugar
    3 egg whites
    1/4 tsp cream of tartar
    3/4 spoon vanilla extract
    food coloring to achieve desired color

    Instructions to mix dry ingredients and wet ingredients are the same as yours. These are to be baked with the oven heated to 400 degrees F; insert macarons; oven off for 5 min; back on to 400 for 8 more minutes. Any suggestions as to how I can develop ‘feet’ on my macarons? Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Macaron Chronicles VII: And the saga continues | Kitchen Musings

Leave a Reply

