Mini Lemon Meringue Pies

Creampie1

I have so neglected my blog lately. I couldn’t even think of a creative title for this month’s Daring Baker’s Challenge hosted by Jen of The Canadian Baker . I was quite busy at work as well as on an exciting project which I shall reveal in my next post. I really did not think I would be able to complete this month’s challenge but I have Helen to thank for the encouragement she gave me to give it a shot. She said I could knock it out in one night… and guess what – she was right! I did have to finish the meringue the next morning for photography purposes . The pie needs to be eaten within 6 hours because the bottom crust will start to get soggy.

I did have my doubts at first about the recipe because of the amount of  cornstarch involved. The crust was on the wet side and I was afraid I measured the ingredients wrong but in the end it did not present much of a problem. The highlight was in making the lemon curd. I was stirring along quite nonchalantly when suddenly the mixture thickened alarmingly fast. However, after I mixed it with the egg yolks it regained a bit of fluidity.

The pie was quite delicious and though it did not compare to an all yolk curd in creaminess, it was a great recipe to try. I was glad I made minis so to exercise automatic portion control ;). Don’t forget to check out the other renditions of the other Daring Bakers , link on the side bar.

Creampie2

36 thoughts on “Mini Lemon Meringue Pies

  1. Beautiful – and I agree on the automatic portion control … except that unless you reduce the overall quantities, you have the same problem, but less problems with slicing. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Awww Sis! Such pretty lil tartlets! I'm glad Helene talked you into it!

    I can't wait for this announcement.. I'm already beaming – I'm so proud of you!

    xoxo

  3. wonderful job, Veron, I love your mini pies… as for portion control, that wouldnยดt work too well for me, because it just means I can grab a second one lol

  4. Your mini pies are darling and I'm so glad you decided to do the challenge despite work. The portion idea is good, but does require self-control…where did I leave mine anyway?

  5. If I seemed a little out of it during one of our phone conversations that was probably because I was not exercising the portion control that you did and had a few for breakfast!! I love the ribbon…:)
    They turned out beautiful!

  6. I love how the meringue looks and love the shot where you can see inside the pie. I should've done that – made the meringue the next morning to get better photos! Good thinking. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. This is my first time at your blog. Your pies are nice, but what I'm REALLY impressed by is your beautiful header. Did you design it yourself?

  8. I realy like your supreme release! Could you accomplish the term paper thesis for example? Because I do really know that an experienced essay writing service would accomplish well researched term papers of brilliant quality.

Leave a Reply

