How to eat a Macaron

I cringe sometimes when I bring macarons to work and I see people – especially guys (you know who you are) – just pop the whole thing in their mouth.

Now I don’t want to be the macaron nazi and I understand because of its relative bite-sizeness – the natural tendency is to well – put the entire macaron in your mouth. But guys, macarons are delicate cookies … they are meant to be savored. So here are my three simple steps to eating a macaron :

  1. Hold macaron between thumb and forefinger and observe the structure. Nice feet? How about the shape? Is it too domed?

Wholepinkmac

     2. Okay now, take that first tentative bite. Was there a delicate crunch meeting a slightly chewy and pillowy shell? How about the filling ? Does it complement the shell?

Eatenpinkmac

    3.  Alright take that next bite. By now you should be thinking that macarons are indeed a gift from the Gods (just like chocolate).

Almostgonepinkmac

18 thoughts on “How to eat a Macaron

  1. Ha! It's a good thing we have you around to keep us from completely losing control! From this point forward, I will rigorously adhere to the three-step macaron program!

  2. Admittedly, I actually take just two bites. The first to check out the insides, and then I finish the whole thing off in another bite. Thanks for the tutorial Veron! I'll be less of a savage the next time I have a macaron;)

  3. You are so right. My husband would have put the whole tasty thing in his mouth, in one fail plop. I have tried to correct his eating habits before and have had no success. He is always going to eat the way he wants, but he loves the way I cook and a big part of what I make is your recipes.

Leave a Reply

