Penzeys coming to Richmond!

I was so pleased yesterday when I received a postcard from Penzeys , purveyor of fine herbs and spices, stating that they will be opening a store in Carytown soon. They have a collection of hard-to-find spices and you can choose to buy them in bulk too. I remembered I was looking for sumac to use for Persian kebobs one time and they even sold them in one pound bags! Anyway, I’m sure when they open I will be tempted to refresh my spice cabinet.

I think they are still in the hiring phase since the postcard was also meant to advertise for full-time and part-time positions.

Here is the store location and would-be hours:

3400 West Cary Street

Richmond, VA 23221

Mon-Sat 10:00 am to 6:00 pm

Sunday 11am-5pm

First , Whole Foods Market, second Trader Joes and now Penzeys , I think I’m in a foodie’s heaven!

15 thoughts on “Penzeys coming to Richmond!

  1. Veron, be scared… be very, very scared…

    And you thought you spent lots of money in Whole Paycheck. I don't think I get out of Penzey's ever without a brown paper bag.

  2. Me, I prefer Adrian's Caravan, which used to have a shop in the Grand Central Station market, where I understand their lease was not renewed in order to give the space to Penzeys. But Adrian's Caravan lingers on. Check out Adriana's online catalog at:
    http://www.adrianascaravan.com/

  3. I love Penzeys. I even considered getting a PT job ther just for the discopunt( all earning would have gone back to them). I love that you can get everthing in any qty. So a nice way to try without spoending a mint.

  4. A few years ago, we got a Penzey's in the Boston area, too.
    I was so pleased when the location was announced and it was less than a mile down the hill from my house! I couldn't believe my luck! I love that I can buy everything in small jars so that spices don't get stale. I can't wait to hear what you are going to whip up with all the spices! BTW, you can also get edible quality lavender there, but have to ask as they keep it in the back. They said because it is so hard to get, they don't want people buying it for potpourri.

    I'd never been to Adriana's Caravan, but a friend told me about it and sent me their cookbook: Adriana's Spice Caravan, by Rochelle Zabarkes. Another one for your book collection!

  5. Game over! After lusting for Penzeys for over a year, I finally broke down and placed an order. Several days later I stopped at a restaurant that I hadn't been to in a long while and just across the lot was, Penzeys. Only been open a month. I'm there all the time it seems and taking all my friends.

  6. We are lucky to have a Penzey's in Grand Central Station in NYC, so it's easy to drop by for some last minute ingredients on the way home. There is a larger stor about 10 miles from my home, but I haven't had a chance to make the trip yet.

  7. Has the Whole Foods there opened yet? We have actually been knnown to drive to Charlottesville, so I am really looking forward to making a day of it (and getting lunch in Richmond to boot)! And the idea of having Penzey's so close makes me feel more civilized! (I love the comment about "Whole Paycheck!)

  8. I just have to say I am a huge fan of Adriana's Caravan. They have such a wonderful selection. Also I prefer how personal of a company they are as opposed to corporate massed produced Penzey's. For all check out adrianascaravan.com. You will not be dissapointed with their selection.

  9. I just have to say I am a huge fan of Adriana's Caravan. They have such a wonderful selection. Also I prefer how personal of a company they are as opposed to corporate massed produced Penzey's. For all check out adrianascaravan.com. You will not be dissapointed with their selection.

  10. Anyway, you can go to the Mexican/Latino grocery stores on Hull and get the chiles much cheaper than Adrianas or Penzeys.

    $3.00 an ounce for whole chile ancho? I think I can get a half pound for that at La Milpa. That's like buying 2 oz. of pozole for $5.95…

    I miss not being able to buy 50 lb sacks of pinto beans at the grocery..

Leave a Reply

