Daring Bakers and Pierre Herme’s Chocolate!

Eclair

This is going to be short and sweet! Meeta from the blog What's for Lunch Honey and Tony Tahhan, chose Pierre Herme's eclairs for the challenge this month. Eclairs are in the same family as cream puffs and gougeres as they come from the same incarnation of pate a choux. I did not have a pastry tip large enough to pipe the eclairs so I just snipped the tip of my pastry bag. I am curious why my first tray of eclairs did not have a pocket and the second did and they were from the same batter! Maybe my oven was not preheated enough the first time and I should have cooked the first tray longer?

Anyway, for me the chocolate pastry cream was the best I've tasted and will be including it in my repertoire. I was afraid I would have eaten all of it before I could fill my eclairs.

So Meeta , thanks for this fantastic challenge from our Sugar Daddy!

31 thoughts on “Daring Bakers and Pierre Herme’s Chocolate!

  1. Yea, I was worried that I wouldn't have any cream left to fill the eclairs it was so good. I've been trying to figure out what "excuse" I can come up with to make it again 😉

    Absolutely gorgeous Veron!

  2. Lovely, just lovely.
    Yeah, the pastry cream was excellent even though I used white choc instead of dark. If only it were diet food… 😉

  3. Now I'm sad that I made a chocolate glaze and not a chocolate filling… Maybe I'll have to give that one a shot next time I attempt eclairs. Yours look wonderful, naturally. 🙂

  4. Simply beautiful eclair and photo. Pierre Herme' sure knows his way around desserts. Great job, even if the first tray didn't bake as you thought it should.

  5. Lovely presentation, Veron! The dough is still a mystery for me as well, and after all the rave reviews, I´m gonna have to give the chocolate pastry cream recipe a try.

  6. The pastry cream was so very like the one we remembered….awesome! I think eclairs are as fussy as macarons sometimes!! Youd did a wonderful job and PH would be proud!!

  7. I love eclairs. I enjoy making them and giving them away. My daughter is a school teacher and any time I get in the mood to cook, all I have to do is use the teachers pool for my test patients. They love it and it is free food.

Leave a Reply

