Work in Progress: The Cupcake Bouquet

Cupcake_bouq_close_small   

I have been asked on a couple of occasions for ideas regarding cupcakes to be made into a centerpiece for  a  table. Makes perfect sense don't you think? Instead of the usual floral decor which eventually gets thrown away, why not something as adorable as cupcakes that can be enjoyed by all?

The  cupcake bouquet had been on a list of projects I wanted to try for the longest time but never got the chance to get the materials together. I already had the styrofoam ball but did not have a pot that would fit the sphere. But since I had extra cupcakes and buttercream on hand, my impatient side won out and decided to give the nagging idea a test drive.

Cupsetup

I stuffed a 6-inch diameter pot with some bubble wrap and locked in my 5-inch styrofoam ball. I wish I had green crepe paper but made do with a teal-colored tissue to cover the ball. I stuck toothpicks into the ball  (mostly 2 per cupcake)and wrapped some decorative leaves around it. There are two ways to do this. Stick your cupcakes and then frost or the other way around. I decided to frost my cupcakes and refrigerate them for an hour before affixing them to the sphere. If your pot is not heavy enough you may have to weigh it down, otherwise the weight of the cupcakes may tip the whole thing over.

I guess my main concern was how long the buttercream would stay on before sliding off. The temperature in the house was 70F and I set the timer to one hour increments. At the end of the third hour, the buttercream showed no sign of sliding off! Of course, I still don't think this will be a good idea in the summer.

Cupcakeclosesmall   

Quite happy with this first try, I can't wait to attempt it again with an 8-inch sphere and the right-size pot. Oh, and in case you all were wondering, I used the Wilton 1M tip to decorate the cupcake. Start from the center and just whirl out. ( I verified the technique with Helen). I believe the star tip (the curved one) will also work.

1Mtip

I also wondered if I could cover the ball with moss green fondant instead of paper. Also, the cupcake wrapper should blend more into the frosting or the sphere. And yes, next time I shall have enough cupcakes to cover the entire ball properly!

Cupcake_bouq_small

21 thoughts on “Work in Progress: The Cupcake Bouquet

  1. Thanks everyone!!! I cannot take credit for putting cupcake in a pot…it is not an original idea but I would like to thank the first person who did it … whoever it is :).

  2. Sis, that's just adorable. I think it'd be extremely cute with mini cupcakes too.. like a rosebud bouquet! 😀

    I can't wait to see the one you are finally happy with after all your tweaking!

    XOXOXOXOXOXXOXO

  3. I love the idea of bringing something like this to a party. Why not put the bouquet in a terra cotta pot from a nursery? they are super cheap…

  4. THANK YOU!!!! for sharing this technique. I would like to make this for Mother's Day. I'm so happy I found your blog…Hugs! Carmen – BAKING is my ZeN

Leave a Reply

