The food of Manila

The city that grew the foodie in me. Chubby Hubby has a delectable account of this most underestimated food destination in Asia. Although I must say the food scene has developed into a level that I have not seen before. Pork belly and foie gras cassoulet? Never seen that dish on any of the menus when I was working in Manila during the ’90s.

Anyway, reading Chubby Hubby’s 3-day whirlwind food fest reminds me of why I am hesistant to go home to the Philippines – I may never want to come back.

Incidentally, Richmond, Va is holding the "Filipino Festival" at Our Lady of Lourdes church. If you love pork, then I suggest you head over there this weekend, August 8.

Looks like lechon is on the menu. In case you haven’t heard Bourdain rated the Philippines’ lechon as numero uno in the world!

17 thoughts on “The food of Manila

  1. Hi Erica – I’m a sucker for food festivals. Sometimes that’s the only way to sample a cuisine the authentic way.
    Hi Beth G – Aren’t they delicious? Your best friend’s lucky, grandmothers have the best treats!

  2. I do wish you would consider heading back though, so I can live vicariously through you! 🙂
    In Richmond? That’s only a 4 hour drive away from where I am!

  3. I would love to try a new cultural/food festival and I’ve never been to the Filipino fest. From the looks of it, a vegetarian had better love the chopsuey, or just come for dessert. Do you think there will be any variation from that menu you linked to?

  4. Hi Jackie! We make mocha chiffon cake in our restaurant before. Taste better with the leche flan ofcourse.
    Hi big boys oven – so you went to makati, wow.
    Hi Joey – might plan a trip next year. I really miss the food!
    Hi Sophia – for sure when I head back there will be a food by food account!
    Hi Dangghit – I really can’t wait to try lechon again.
    Hi T.W. – so many food memories, I shall try to remember them.
    Hi RVAfoodie – I emailed the festival and they replied that their chopsuey is vegetarian only, no meat. The lumpia (filipino egg roll) and pansit (noodles) have vegetarian options but you must ask for it. And you must try the HaloHalo, it’s a hot weather treat with jack fruit, sweetened beans, purple yam, sliced coconut and leche flan. Google halo-halo filipino and you will see what I mean.

  5. Not sure if it was good or bad to follow that ChubbyHubby link, now I’m hungry and want to travel to Manila 😉 I can believe it would be difficult to leave that food scene. … and that chocolate drink with fish, wild but I’d love to give that a go.

Leave a Reply

