The duck that almost wasn’t

duckport
Pekin duck with Port wine reduction

This dish nearly did not come to fruition. I accidentally lit my saute pan and I had an unintended flambe. Who knew port wine can produce such a blaze? The sink looked like a good option to dump the licking inferno. Then I remembered from CIA that if the fire becomes uncontrollable, just put a lid on it – do not ever try to blow it off. Alcohol will eventually burn itself out anyway, so it’s not as bad as a grease fire (do not throw water on the latter).

No real recipe here. I was cleaning out my freezer and found 4 Pekin duck breasts packaged together. I love using the "salt early" mentality, a technique I learned from reading Zuni Cafe by Judy Rogers. Rule of thumb is 3/4 teaspoon per pound of meat and let sit for 24 hours – a dry brine . I like to score the skin of the duck breast in a criss cross pattern and cook it skin side down on medium heat to render the fat and crisp the skin. When the skin is golden brown, I transfer the duck to a 400 F oven for 10 minutes to finish cooking. In the meantime, I discard all but 1 tablespoon of the rendered fat and add the port wine. For 4 duck breasts, I used 1 cup of port wine and reduced it to a syrupy consistency. Afterwards, I stir in 4 tablespoons of creme fraiche.  Drizzle over duck ad serve.

October is turning out to be a busy month for big events and I’ve been cranking out macarons non-stop. So please excuse the lack of posts and if I have not been able to visit your blogs recently. Thank goodness for twitter, I could catch up with a couple of you, albeit briefly. I have been eyeing some interesting recipes in some baking books I just received and I can’t wait to try them out, so hopefully this dry spell won’t last too long.

13 thoughts on “The duck that almost wasn’t

  1. Wow, that’s just gorgeous and sounds so wonderful! Lucky you though, to remember what to do with an alcohol fire πŸ˜› Can’t wait to see more pics of beautiful cupcakes and macarons!

  2. You had a small spark and served THAT Duck of beauty? TW is right, you ARE the queen of duck!!!

    Don’t forget to take a breather, Veron.

  3. definitely one of my favorite: duck meat! i love doing flambΓ©e but i’m scared of having same problem like you had so i just normally ask hubby to do that for me hahaha!!

  4. I love duck. If there’s duck on the menu, I will order it. If it’s not duck, it’s lamb. want to taste your macaroons. Probably learn how to do it soon. I was at Powerplant Mall Makati this afternoon and they have this baking bazaar and one of them is selling macaroons and remembered you. πŸ™‚ There are so many people making macaroons and lots of blogs about it but it’s you I remember.

Leave a Reply

