Fried Chicken? Yes, please.

chixkaraag
Fried Chicken Lollipops

I know the sweet stuff has been missing from the blog for a while. I had been on an Asian food kick lately and my cravings didn’t seem to include cakes, pies or cookies. Chocolate is the exception, that’s a whole different food group in my universe, and having a little square of bittersweet chocolate with my espresso had been enough to satisfy my sugar cravings.
I’m sure with the first signs of sweet, flavor-packed strawberries, I’ll be enticed again to indulge in some sugar high.
For now, it’s back to the comfort food of childhood: fried chicken.

Whenever I see fried chicken lollipops I get excited. So easy to eat, so finger-licking good – the perfect appetizer or picnic food.

Me? I can have it for dinner, no problem.

But is it easy to make?

Sorta.

For a visual method on how to form the lollipop, Maki of Just Bento has the perfect step-by-step tutorial. You need chicken drummettes, the drumstick portion of the wing to do this.

I used a Japanese karaage recipe for the marinade. Normally, chicken nuggets are used with this recipe, but after seeing Maki’s chicken lollipops, how can one resist not making this adorable version.
 

chixkaraag2
 

Chicken Karaage
adapted from Shizuo Tsuji Japanese Cooking, a simple art

12 drummettes (around 600 g)
marinade:
6 tbsps sake
3 tbsps light soy sauce
1 tbsp fresh ginger juice
2 tbsp very finely chopped green onion

oil for deep-frying
3/4 cup cornstarch

Prepare the drummettes.

Cut through the skin and sever the tendons at the base of the drummette. Scrape the meat and skin down to the fat end and turn everything inside out to form a lollipop.

Mix ingredients for marinade in a bowl, add chicken drummettes and mix thoroughly with your hands. Marinate for 30 minutes.

To deep-fry: Bring a generous amount of oil to medium temperature (340F/170C) in a heavy-bottomed pot or deep-fryer. Drain the marinade from the chicken and dust the chicken lightly with cornstarch. Use your hands to toss and coat individual pieces thoroughly. Let coated chicken rest for 2-3 minutes.

Slide chicken into hot oil, a few pieces at a time. Turn and separate individual pieces as they deep-fry. Skim the oil occasionally. As the chicken is finished, remove and drain on absorbent paper toweling.
 

Cooking Notes

I loved all this fried-chicken goodness! I was going to add some mirin to the marinade until I tasted the sake, I realized that it was sweet enough already. The original recipe used flour but I prefer using cornstarch when it comes to fried chicken because I think it makes for a crisper chicken. Also, soy toughens the meat so you don’t want to leave the pieces in the marinade for too long.
The drummettes cooked in about 6 minutes while keeping the temperature of the oil between 320 and 340 F, any higher and the chicken would turn too dark.
 

27 thoughts on “Fried Chicken? Yes, please.

  1. Pingback: Fried Chicken? Yes, please. | Kitchen Musings Egg Me

  2. I didn’t realize that soy toughens meat! Thanks for the tip – I thought I could leave it there forever! Anyway, Veron chicken looks deliciously cripsy – thanks for that other tip on the cornstarch!

  3. I made chicken almost the same way last week except, I added the mirin. I didn’t know about the soy either, thanks for that tidbit:) And, I saw chicken posing like that in a book a long long time ago and figured out how to do it myself. I never knew they were called lollipops. So cool!

    Thanks so much for sharing, Veron. Yours looks so much tastier than mine…

  4. Love these! They are served a lot in parties over here (especially children’s parties) and I always make a beeline for the platter! I can easily put away a mound of these!

  5. hI! i loooooooooooove chicken karaage but I’m really surprised your vesion doesn’t includemirin! :O mirin gives it the chicken a nice sweet note that goes yummily with the ginger. I do my chicken karaage with miring, chunk of ginger, few garlic, sake if i have it and soy sauce. pulse that in the food processor. marinate for 30-45 minutes. cornstarch, egg wash, cornstarch and fry! yummy 🙂 amazing how fried things are so much better with cornstarch but yeah..try it with mirin. we used to frequent a San Diego place that had awesome karaage and i think the mirin will bring yours closer to that

  6. oh yeah, i meant to add to use more mirin than sake if you have it 😛 like 3 parts mirin, 1 part sake and 1 part soy sauce. i think if you have to choose between the two I’d do mirin over sake with soy sauce but then again I just might be saying this bc i prefer to drink my sake, haha 🙂

  7. When the pulse is at its strongest, she says she can even dance in her living room without them coming off.
     Positive: Mrs Allison was once accused by a cashier of deliberately cursing his till when her magnetism caused it

    to develop problems.

  8. An excellent blog!I like it.but The meaning of the last paragraph a bit puzzled.It’s always good to have passions in life to keep yourself from going down the negative path and work towards staying positive.I really enjoyed this. You can look your article comments. This information has really been helpful for most of the readers. I really appreciate the way you have written about this. I will really like to read more on this from you. I know your expertise on this. I must say we should have an online discussion on this. Writing only comments will close the discussion straight away! And will restrict the benefits from this information.Moncler jackets|moncler

  9. I’ve been attempting the cute yet frustrating macarons…some day I’ll get it right. Then I found your chicken lollipops! I’ve made a similiar version, based on following my mom around the kitchen (add a little of this and a little of that!). Now I found a site I can direct my friends to on how to make chicken lollipops. Your site provides all the necessary instructions and tips. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

