The Macaron Food Pyramid

macaronpyramid
L-R,T-B: Hazelnut-Caramel Fleur de sel, Matcha-Matcha Ganache, Chocolate-Espresso Buttercream, Passion Fruit Milk Chocolate, Rose-Litchi Ganache, Pistachio Bittersweet Chocolate

Those of you following my tweets know that I have been covered in confectioner’s sugar and almond flour for 2.5 days as I furiously baked macaron after macaron batch for some orders and Broad Appetit. At last count, I baked more or less 950 macarons – that’s 1,900 piped shells!

I loved every minute of it. There is something so gratifying as you fill them and join the shells together and watching the filling squooshing to the edge. Yep- love.

I’ve been thinking about making another video, something more planned unlike the impromptu one I did on youtube last year.

The "Hungry" Hubby has also improved his video-editing skills so transitions should be better. 🙂

In the mean time, I’ll try to get a macaron recipe up. I’ve been wanting to make a chocolate macaron version using the Italian Meringue. This is a bit advance since it uses cacao pate but it should be similar to Pierre Herme’s chocoalate macarons that he sells in his shops.

Stay tuned!

17 thoughts on “The Macaron Food Pyramid

  1. Thanks a lot, I saw your video before when I tried to work out my first macaron!! I did it once only, cause I found the almond is my biggest problem, and still cannot solve it, so have not try again till now…I an glad to found out that video is made by you! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Had your macarons in the car on the way home from Broad Appetit – simply fabulous! Thanks for introducing me to such a delicious treat.

  3. Yummm…They are so cute….I love them 🙂 … I wonder how to keep hundreds of macarons since my fridge is not too big..

  4. A mac food pyramid, that’s the things dreams are made of!
    Passion: …so gratifying as you fill them and join the shells together and watching the filling squooshing to the edge. Yep- love. And there they are squooshing to the edge.

Leave a Reply

