A diet of chicken kebabs

chickenkebab
Chicken breast kebabs

*NOTE: the picture above was taken from my first test where I mixed the saffron with the marinade. In the recipe I’m sharing below, the chicken will not be yellow on the grill because the saffron is not added till the very end.

Diet, that word is a food blogger’s nightmare. It’s just so easy to let your weight get away from you when you go on vacation and then realize  too late that you’ve eaten pork belly for a week.

There is a need to balance such indulgence with {shudder} low-fat skinless chicken breasts. Though I like grilled chicken (yakitori anyone?) fine, there is always a tendency to consume copious amount of carbs with it which essentially defeats the purpose. Please don’t suggest having it with salad…because I’ll be hungry after 30 minutes.

As with jujeh kabab, a popular Persian kebab dish made with chicken, this goes oh so well with white rice. It’s really up to you to portion it out. 😉

I’ve tested a recipe from a book that called for lime and the saffron in the marinade but after testing it against my sister-in-law’s recipe that uses lemon, I’ve determined that lime toughens the chicken while lemon does not. Also saffron flavor will dissipate with extended cooking so it’s better to just toss the grilled pieces with a butter-saffron mixture at the end (also my sister-in-law’s method).

saffron
saffron. I have a mortar and pestle used exclusively for saffron. respect the spice.

Saffron chicken kebab

1.5 lbs skinless chicken breast ( around 3 pieces), cut into 1.5 inch pieces
1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, peeled thinly sliced
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Butter-saffron mixture

1/2 teaspoon ground saffron dissolved in 1 tablespoon hot water
2 tablespoons melted butter

* amounts are guidelines, adjust according to taste.

3 flat swordlike skewers

Marinate the chicken with the lemon juice, olive oil, sliced onion, salt and pepper for 6 hours up to overnight.
Thread the chicken on flat swordlike skewers (available online or in Persian grocery stores)
Grill until done. The advantage of skewers is that the chicken cooks from inside and outside which traps the juice within the meat and it cooks faster.

Immediately de-skewer into a large serving bowl and toss with the butter saffron mixture. Serve with rice and some grilled tomatoes.

9 thoughts on “A diet of chicken kebabs

  1. Oh this sounds good, Veron. Diet? I am on the fence about how much weight I gain just visiting blogs, lol…

    Your chicken sounds fabulous and yes, I agree lemon seems to tenderize chicken way better than lime. Gee, I wonder why that is?

    I tried to grow saffron a few years ago but I think the “critters” got to my bulbs. I will try again one day. “Respect” the spice you know:)

    Thanks for sharing, Veron…

Leave a Reply

